I set my mind in motion.


Dune Movies – Some Cool Quotes

It is by will alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the juice of sapho that thoughts acquire speed,
the lips acquire stains, the stains become a warning.
It is by will alone I set my mind in motion.

Not a quote from the book, true, but still, a pretty good summing up of the dangers of being a Mentat. Can’t say David Lynch COMPLETELY ruined Dune.

Here’s a funny spoof of that:

It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed,
the hands acquire shakes, the shakes become a warning.
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.

and of course, there is my favorite Dune quote ever,
The Litany Against Fear:

I must not fear.
Fear is the mind-killer.
Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration.
I will face my fear.
I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
Where the fear has gone there will be nothing.
Only I will remain

Comments are closed.